NEW FEATURE: Staff Spotlight!

There are so many fabulous people who work at the Zimmer, and it’s about time you meet some of them! Once a month, we’ll be featuring one staff member and the exciting things she/he is doing here. For the first Staff Spotlight, we introduce you to… JESSICA!

Name: Jessica Sachs
Position: Community Relations Manager
A little bit about her:  Jessica recently graduated from the University of California, Santa Cruz with a BA in Community Studies. With a degree in Community and having worked with children for the majority of her life, as both a camp counselor and babysitter, she was bound for the Zimmer Children’s Museum! Jessica loves heading out into the community with museum activities and information, so look for her at the next big children’s event or festival!
Childhood hero: Harry Potter

Take me through a day in the life of Jessica at the Zimmer.
For me, every day at the Zimmer is a new experience with new guests and new opportunities to learn. I like to spend as much time as I can inside the Museum, floating around and talking to guests about their visit and figuring out what I can do to ensure every child gets a fun, educational, and exciting day at the Zimmer. Unlike most adults I know in the working world, a big part of my job is to PLAY… which is totally awesome!! I love playing peek-a-boo with the VIBs (Very Important Babies), ordering whatever the “Chef’s Special” is at the Blue Bagel Café, and dancing up a storm during our Friday Freeze Dance Party! At the Zimmer, I wear a lot of hats (figuratively speaking) so when I’m not out on the floor, you can also find me typing away at my computer in the front office working on cross-promotional and partnership opportunities, making announcements over the intercom, on the phone booking birthday parties, coordinating volunteers, or out in the community at festivals and special events.

What’s your favorite exhibit at the Zimmer?
My favorite exhibit is the Wishing Wall. Not only is it a beautiful way to teach children and parents about far away places like Jerusalem, but it also teaches them about the global concept of Peace. While people leave their wishes for the world here at our replica of the Western Wall at the Zimmer, people from all over the world visit the Western Wall in Jerusalem to do the same. Whenever I stand at the Wishing Wall I feel a sense of unity, like there is a bond between all those who visit the wall at the Zimmer and all those who visit the wall in Jerusalem-that bond being our wishes for a peaceful and just world. When you look at the wall and the individually folded papers filling each crack of the wall with wishes, you cannot help but feel that each paper wish is filling in each crack in the foundation of the building blocks towards peace. Standing at the Wishing Wall I get the feeling that peace is possible. I hope the children (and adults!) who visit this exhibit remember their wishes and let that feeling of peace take hold so that it never fades.

What is the most memorable thing you have been involved in here?
The most memorable thing, in the year that I’ve been working at the Zimmer, are the long days and late nights working on the Grand Opening of the S. Mark Taper Aid and Rescue Center! Of course, because it wasn’t already crazy enough, I came down with a full-fledge case of strep throat right in the middle of the chaos. But, in the end, all of the hard work and effort was totally worth it because the new exhibit is a hit! This time period was very exciting for me because I got to witness first hand how the museum changes and evolves, and I cannot wait to see what else is in store! It is such a wonderful time to be a part of the Zimmer and I am beyond thrilled to be on board!

Thanks, Jessica! Check back next month to meet another member of the Zimmer team!

One thought on “NEW FEATURE: Staff Spotlight!

  1. Pingback: Staff Spotlight: Arielle, Development & Communications Coordinator «

Leave a Reply

