Staff Spotlight: Maria Palazzolo, Associate Director of Play and Learning

It’s time again to meet another Zimmer staff member. Say hello to Maria, our Associate Director of Play and Learning!maria

Name: Maria Palazzolo
Position: Associate Director of Play and Learning
A little bit about her: Maria completed her Bachelor’s degree from California State University, Long Beach in the field of Family Studies, with a specialization in Child Development. She received her Master’s degree in Early Education in 2008 from California State University Long Beach. Maria has worked in both private and public schools, as well as nonprofit organizations. This unique background has provided a foundation for best practice in working with children of all ages. Maria’s passion for helping children to realize their full potential and access their strengths drives her to become a better human being!

“My passion in life is to inspire parents to be their child’s number one advocate! I strongly believe in the power of love, positive guidance and a free-mind spirit. My number one priority is to create a partnership between parents and educators to insure that children get the best education experience possible.”

Childhood hero: My mom

Take me through a day in the life of Maria at the Zimmer.
Every day at the Zimmer, it’s a new adventure, and you never know what to expect! My job at Zimmer has me pretty busy. A typical day can include planning classes, seeking resources to expand our programs, building community relationships, and of course, my favorite part- building relationships with our guests! No one day at the Zimmer is the same; every day brings a new challenge and a satisfaction beyond words. Among the many responsibilities I have here at the Zimmer, I take my passion for children’s learning very seriously. I am committed to offering our guests the best education experience possible.

What’s your favorite exhibit at the Zimmer?
My favorite exhibit is the Wishing Wall; I love the meaning behind it. I truly feel it allows our guests to sit and really think about others and explain to their children what it means to have wishes for the world and what those wishes look like. I often hear the most amazing conversations among parents and their little ones!  It’s very inspiring.

What is the most memorable thing you have been involved in here?
Everything! But in particular, the baby classes we offer. I have the honor of seeing these little babies grow and learn right before my eyes! I love that we can create an environment where is safe and loving.  I love to see the reaction of the babies when they walk in the class to see all the sensory activities we have planned for them. It’s amazing how much learning takes place.

Thanks, Maria! Stay tuned for our next spotlights, which will be on our new SUMMER INTERNS!

Leave a Reply

